• Bookmark Mainstream Parenting Resources
  • categories

  • Archives

  • Visitors to this site

  • Directory of Parenting Blogs
  • stats for
wordpress

Caricaturizations

Once in a while I Google the term “Mainstream Parenting” just to see what’s new (I’m proud to say that this blog is still #1 in the search results :) ). I don’t know why I didn’t find this sooner, as it’s been online for nearly 2 years, but I came across a series of 3 comic strips created in Bitstrips (a website that enables even the non-artistic to create their own comic strips), in which an APer – appropriately, in my opinion, nicknamed “Tokenweirdo”, decided to vent her spleen at mainstream parents and their “wisdom”. You can view the three comic strips here.

You gotta love how the author assumes that 1) mainstream parenting has exactly one method of dealing with any given situation, regardless of age, 2) any negative outcomes are portrayed as a direct result of not APing (because, yanno, APed toddlers never yell “I don’t wanna!” at their parents…) and 3) children and adults are exactly the same.

It’s almost as if I asserted this with regards to an AP parenting practice (excuse my amateurism. In case you were wondering, that was supposed to be a family in bed).

8 Responses

  1. lol, what I really laughed at was that the comics had quite a few views (#3 had 150) and only 3 laughs… Unsurprising, really. :-)

  2. I love the one with the parents in cribs because my husband and I were just commenting the other day on how comfy and cozy our daughter’s crib looked, and how we wish we had one! Who wants to sleep alone? I do, I do!

  3. I find confiscating things a VERY effective form of curtailing terrible behaviour – and much better than the condescending and tortuous doggy biscuit style techniques such as reward charts – if that is what AP people use. How do they discipline children actually? Or don’t their children ever require discipline because they got off to such a great start in life?m

    • Actually, that’s what I love so much about Christmas – a whole new set of favourite toys to threaten to take away *evil cackle*

  4. I love how you had to leave a disclaimer comment.

  5. Sh1t, I am so tired of the AP dogma.

  6. At age 9, my non-AP raised kid can distinguish genuine satire from crude caricature. That’s more than I can say for this would-be cartoonist.

  7. As long as we’re tossing around pop culture, I thought this was kind of an interesting article. I suspect the connection between fashion masochism and parenting masochism is thin, but the heck:

    http://www.annarbor.com/entertainment/parenting/helicopter-parenting-may-end-in-2010/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

