• Bookmark Mainstream Parenting Resources
  • categories

  • Archives

  • Visitors to this site

  • Directory of Parenting Blogs
  • stats for
wordpress

Ch-ch-changes

I know I haven’t been a very good blogger lately. Part of this is just real life (mostly work and kids) interfering with my blogging habit. Some of it, however, is me attempting to make a bit more of this blog than it currently is. I’ve owned the mainstreamparenting.com domain name for a while now, and will be attempting to switch over to a proper website in the near future. So if you can’t access the blog for a little while, you’ll know why.

Wish this technophobe some luck, will ya? :)

8 Responses

  1. Let me know if you need any help.
    :)

  2. Looking forward to it!

  3. Hi Esther,

    Looking forward to the changes! Don’t be gone for long! Please let me know if you need referrals, I have 2 good people to recommend.

    Shaloha,
    Heather

  4. Looking forward to it. In the meantime, here’s an interesting article:

    http://babble.com/mothers-breastfeeding-problems-nursing-advice/index.aspx

  5. Good luck; looking forward to it…

  6. WEll, just remember to let us know where to find you. OK? I have been a bad blogger too. I think that will change soon though. The big news with me is that I am switching my major to nurse practitioner since my spine has acted up again and I was told to find a job that would not stress the spine. So midwife is out and NP who works in the office is in. Looking forward to seeing your new stuff.

  7. http://ebmfortheperplexed.blogspot.com/2010/02/is-homeopathic-treatment-for-infants.html

    Has questions you can answer

    Is homeopathic treatment for infants with colic dangerous?

    With exquisite timing, three days after the 10^23 mass demonstration of how safe it is to overdose on homeopathic medicines, the journal Pediatrics published an article, which reports on:

    “11 infants who presented with an ALTE [apparent life-threatening event] after ingestion of Gali-col Baby, a homeopathic agent indicated for “infantile colic”

    Three questions immediately spring to mind:

    1. What exactly are apparently life-threatening events (ALTEs)?
    2. What is in Gali-col Baby? Is it truly homeopathic, or does it have active ingredients?
    3. How was the comparison group selected? I.e. did the authors make a fair comparison.

    I have ordered the paper from the library, as I do not have internet access to the journal, and will update this blog when I get it.

    It would be really helpful if someone who reads Hebrew, can do an internet search on Gali-col Baby and tell me what is in it.

    In the mean time I would advise not concluding that homeopathic medicines can cause apparently life-threatening events:

    * there could be active non-homeopathic ingredients in the remedy
    * the remedy could have misled parents into treating seriously ill children with a remedy meant for crying, but otherwise well, babies.
    * the study could have picked up a spurious association

  8. Way to go expanding out to your own hosted domain. You won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

