Who’s Regressed First?

I’m still working on part III of the vaccine/autism Q&A, but in the meantime, have a comic look at the vaccine/autism debate on Liv’s Journey (sorta) patterned after the famous Abbott and Costello Who’s on First? routine, which has some good insights into the logic (or lack thereof) of the mercury militia.

Right…here.

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

3 Responses

  1. Pure Genius….

  2. Thanks for the link up. You’d probably be surprised to hear that I lean toward some biomedical interventions, but I get completely frustrated with those who want to blame all autism on vaccines and specifically thimeresol. I was getting real frustrated with the circular logic the other day on one of those discussion boards. After wringing my face with my hand like Lou Costello, I blurted out “Third Base” and knew I had to at least try…

  3. You’re welcome, LP.

    No, I’m not surprised at the allure of biomedical interventions. When faced with an incurable condition of unknown origin, it’s only natural to grasp at any straw held out by anyone who offers a cure. Quite apart from the dangerous side effects of some of the treatments (e.g., chelation), though, I think it’s unethical to offer unproven treatments to desperate parents – all for a pretty penny, mind. An acquaintance of mine has spent a 6-figure amount for such treatments – secretin, chelation, Actos, vitamin B12 injections and several other DAN! ‘remedies’ I can’t remember at the moment. Her son is still autistic, and not high-functioning either.

Leave a Reply

