Interview with a Doula

A very interesting interview with a doula and childbirth educator, Lisa Gould Rubin. I don’t agree with everything she says, but what I like about her attitude is how the idea is to concentrate on the birth the woman wants, instead of scaring and guilting women into the doula’s ideal type of birth (Yes, I know all doulas claim to do that). I also appreciate her candor in admitting that having a homebirth VBAC herself, in retrospect, may not have been the wisest choice. And her taking on Lamaze, with its disgusting co-optation of the term “normal birth”.

Rubin is a co-author of The Birth That’s Right For You: A Doctor and a Doula Help You Choose and Customize the Best Birth Option to Fit Your Needs.

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

5 Responses

  1. True some Doula’s are a great asset the others just A$$es.

  2. She reminds me of Kneelingwoman and there’s a lot of wisdom in what she says. But I wish she hadn’t repeated the old garbage about the cascade of interventions. Doesn’t recent research show that epidurals don’t lead to more CS?

  3. Yes, it does. But I’ve heard other doulas spout that little mantra.

  4. What do you think of the interviews in this movie?

    “Do You Doula?”

  5. What do I think?

    If a woman feels the need for a doula, she should have one (Me, that’s what my husband’s for. But to each their own). I shudder at the thought of a doula ‘running interference’ for a woman vis-a-vis the medical staff, however. And I really didn’t like the particular doula’s approach in the interview, but that’s just me and I know doulas who think differently (like the interview in the post above).

Leave a Reply

