Da Roolz

I added a new link to my blogroll yesterday: Musings of a Distractible Mind. It’s written by Dr. Rob, a primary care physician who is board-certified in both internal medicine and pediatrics. The blog isn’t only about medicine, but a good many of the posts tend to end up that way, naturally.

I especially liked Dr. Rob’s take on the doctor-patient relationship and the “rules” he proposes to define it:

Doctor Rules
Patient Rules

I especially like the way he presents it as being a 2-way street, that both parties must strive to be mentschen. (Well, all parties if you include the office staff as well).

Naturally, I also liked this post about vaccines. 😉

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

3 Responses

  1. They seem like good rules overall. One elaboration on the problem of feeling silly: The chances of any person going through medical school without ever hearing anything stranger than whatever you’re reporting are so low as to be not worth considering. Your symptom will probably not even be the strangest thing your doctor has seen this week. So don’t worry about it.

    Also some people worry about “bothering” their doctor by calling him or her after hours. This concern is unnecessary. Anyone in medicine knows that they’re likely to get called during the night and that some of these calls will be false alarms or things that could have been handled during working hours. These things happen and it’s not the responsibility of the patient to guess which things are urgent and which can wait. When in doubt, call. If nothing else, it’ll encourage your doctor to discuss the expected course of your condition and what to look for more thoroughly next time.

  2. Don’t have enough good things to say about extending the good behavior to the staff. I almost left the practice of a wildly well respected OB due to my constant run-ins with a really rude staffer. Her name was Athena, on top of it, I was arguing with the goddess of wisdom. After I interviewed around to figure out where to switch to and everyone praised this guy so much, I figured I owed him an explanation of why I was thinking of leaving, so I did on my next visit and it had been the second complaint he’d *that day*.

    That said, I do realize that good help is hard to find and I have heard some completely nutty stories from doctor friends about their staffing challenges.

  3. Dianne:”Your symptom will probably not even be the strangest thing your doctor has seen this week. So don’t worry about it.”

    I would say you’re usually right, though a couple of my current patients have managed to completely FLOOR me with their stories. I’m not going to go into details, because these cases are just too unique to mention w/o compromising patient confidentiality. Let’s just say I came home last night from work in utter shock (though I didn’t show the patient quite how shocked I was).

    Willa – from what I hear, it seems the patients have a deeper sort of interaction with the staff than here regarding their medical situation. For example, if an Israeli patient needs medical advice and calls his clinic, he gets paged through to the doctor, or gives his phone # and the doctor gets back to him personally after hours. The idea of a nurse giving medical advice if the doctor is in, is something you don’t see much here.

Leave a Reply

