Skeptical Parent Crossing #5: Pictures at an Exhibition

I just came back from a week’s vacation in Amsterdam with my husband. One of the main reasons this vacation was so marvelous was that we visited as many as 2-3 museums per day (on average; on our first day we went to no less than 4 museums) and saw lots of wonderful Dutch art in Amsterdam and its environs, including such masterpieces as Rembrandt’s The Night Watch and The Anatomy Lesson and Vermeer’s Girl with a Pearl Earring. All that exposure to great art inspired me to make this carnival a feast for the eyes, as well as for one’s sense of skepticism.


Click on the works of art below to get to the carnival blogposts
; we’ve got a really good selection this month (Thanks, everyone!), and while I’ve tried to connect the subject of each piece of art with each blogpost , some are not an exact match, and I apologize in advance. Apparently some topics, while they make a great read, are not the ones painters tend to concentrate on. Like, for example, paper towels.

And speaking of paper towels, Isis the Scientist tells us of a cure, which like the impossible triangle (upon which the lovely picture below is based), seems to work…but then again, maybe not:

M.C. Escher, Waterfall, 1961

*  *  *

Brad the Skepdad wants to let us know what’s wrong with science education and provides his thoughts on how to teach it better. I have to say that I especially agree with his last point.

Pablo Picasso, The Lesson

The Lesson, Pablo Picasso

*  *  *

Shen-Li at Babylicious tells us of the time her son was ill with suspected dengue or chikungunya fever (yikes!), and discusses whether it’s wise to bathe when you’re under the weather:

Alexander Farmer, An Anxious Hour, 1865

Alexander Farmer, An Anxious Hour, 1865

* * *

Julie over at Rational Moms questions the superiority of “organic” baby food (and I have to say, as a mom who fed her babies mostly homemade baby food, that I concur):

Portrait of Ann Turner Cook (later known as the Gerber Baby) by Dorothy Hope Smith, 1927

* * *

Still on the subject of baby food, Blake of Domestic Father relates the British approach vs. the American one as to what, exactly, Baby should be fed:

Judith Leyster, Still Life with a Basket of Fruit, early 17th Century

* * *

Kylie at PodBlack Cat discusses a news story about a “possessed” high school girl, and how skeptical teachers might discuss matters of the supernatural with their students.

St. Radegunde frees a possessed woman from evil spirits. Poitiers, Bibliothèque Municipale, late 11th century

* * *

Colin at Science-based Parenting interviews Dr. Ari Brown about vaccines along with a few other science-based bloggers…oh, to have been a fly on the wall! Instead, Colin brings us the next best thing…

Edward Jenner Performing the First Vaccination Against Smallpox in 1796, Gaston Melingue, 1879

* * *

And to continue with the topic of doctors and vaccines, Sarah V. of Good Enough Mum gives us her take — both as a British physician and as mother to a child on the autistic spectrum — on the MMR/autism controversy, and why she’s quite sure the MMR did not cause her son’s autism (and it probably wasn’t those death rays from Mars, either):

Norman Rockwell, Before the Shot, 1958

* * *

And I take a quick look at the evidence for some common herbal remedies that grow in my long-neglected (sniff, sniff) Garden:

Hieronymus Bosch, Garden of Earthly Delights, 1503-4

* * *

I hope you enjoyed this colorful carnival, and all the truly fantastic posts behind the artwork! Next month’s carnival will be hosted by CL Hanson at Rational Moms. So please get working on those blogposts, and submit them here when you’re done.

9 Responses

  1. What a fantastic carnival! Thank you for including me!

    Isis

  2. I am so very geeked about this carnival. Unfortunately, one of my darlings shared some of his germy bugs with me, so I am going to have to wait for the morn to check it out. But I am giddy with anticipation (as giddy as this bloody damned cold will allow)……

    I am getting more and more irritable about this whole vaccine bs. I was recently berated by a friend, when I “admitted” that yes, we vaccinated the now one year old. “How the *&^% could you do that, knowing that your oldest has severe ADHD? Don’t you know that the vaccines cause autism and ADHD?”

    Couldn’t have a damned thing to do with genetics (I, and most of those with my paternal genes have severe attention deficit issues, including the contributor). Nope, because we got vaccinated too. And so did the old man.

    Makes – me – Cranky!

  3. Great carnival! Wow! Everyone’s coming up with such clever ideas for presenting the carnival it’s making me nervous for when my turn comes along…

  4. Just wondering why the inclusion of Shen-li. She peddles parenting dogma with the zeal of a convert .

  5. Willa, I get that the two of you don’t get along, and Shen-Li and I have disagreed about plenty in the past (and probably will continue to do so in the future!). But her submission was interesting, informative and well within the guidelines for this carnival’s blogposts, and I was happy to include it.

  6. Hi Willa, lovely to see you again.

    I am going to extend the white flag and apologise for my offenses to you in the past as I feel I have been unnecessarily harsh with my rebuttals. We don’t have to see eye to eye, but that’s okay. I believe I have most to learn from the people who disagree with me rather than those that agree. By forcing me to review what I believe in, it either reaffirms my belief or opens my eyes to my biases. Both,in my opinion, are good outcomes. So please challenge my views. I welcome it.

    After all, that is the whole purpose of skeptical parenting crossing – to challenge our parenting beliefs regardless of whether they are handed down from generation to generation through word of mouth or “scientifically” proven theories from the “experts”. If I am not open to being wrong, then I have no business being here.

  7. Thank you for this – I’m thrilled to be included, and look forward to reading the other posts when I have time. But could you include direct links to the posts themselves, please? Finding them just from a blog link will be easy enough this soon after they’ve been posted, but a lot more difficult for anyone who wants to find them from the archives in the future.

  8. There are direct links to all the posts – the links are embedded in the works of art (clicking on the paintings gets you to the posts).

  9. Aha! Now *that’s* clever! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

