Let’s hope this sets a precedent.

Remember Meryl Dorey, who heads the anti-vax Australian Vaccination Network and who was interviewed in connection with the pertussis epidemic in New South Wales that claimed the life of 4-week-old Dana McCaffrey? Well, the Australian Skeptics have decided to lodge a health care complaint against Dorey and her organization for dispensing (really bad!) health care advice in contravention of the Australian Public Health Act of 1993.

You can read all about it (and other odd beliefs Dorey might subscribe to) over at Bad Astronomy.

13 Responses

  1. Dorey might be a dangerous lunatic, but don’t they have something like the 1st Amendment in Australia?

  2. I don’t know, nor do we know whether the complaint will be accepted. But I would guess the argument being made is that under the circumstances, Dorey and her organization are the people yelling “Fire!” in a crowded theater.

    • I see what you are saying, but I don’t think yelling “Fire” is really an equivalent. Antivaxxxers seem to sincerely believe that they are razing legitimate concerns about safety of a product/ethicacy of a practice. I wouldn’t want anyone to think twice before voicing their opinion on any kind of matter, even if the opinion is most misguided.

  3. There’s no constitutional right to free speech in Australia, although it is protected through various other laws. This one is a longshot, but I applaud them for trying.

  4. I don’t think this is the answer. The answer is to win the argument with the majority, not to censor the minority. Besides you can’t ban selfishness, ignorance and credulity. If only you could…

    I am completely fed up with these people too. Really, I am – but I think this will backfire and possibly win them more sympathy.

    • I don’t know…I suspect that it might backfire on the kind of people who are a priori prone to believing the Big Bad Government is out to get them. The rest of the population…who knows?

      And apparently, that’s not the only step being taken. See here.

      • Actually, I like the ad. I think it will provoke discussion and will make people think about there they stand. I wish there was some way to do the same in the US. I’ve tried to get my parenting group to go public with being provaccination but people are worried about alienating people. I see it more like standing up to be counted.

  5. Hey then move to Idaho. That is were we keep all the fruit cakes in the States.

    then I will know not to go to Idaho with my children so they won’t catch a deadly disease.

    Off Topic. Ester are all vaccinations made with eggs? My cousin’s kid is severly limited and a high risk for health problems. However she is allergic to eggs. Do they make non-egg vaccines?

    • So typical

      • I hear Idaho’s beautiful and would love to visit. I’ve even ‘met’ some really nice peeps online from there.

        Pinky – off the top of my head, the only vaccines that are made with eggs are the MMR and the flu shots. You can read the vaccine inserts, which have to state what cells the viruses are grown in, here.

  6. Pinky, my son has an egg allergy. My understanding is that not all vaccines are cultured in eggs or if they are they aren’t all a problem for kids with egg allergies. For instance we (with earth-shattering irony) had to delay my son’s MMR booster by a month because his pediatrician wanted to make sure it wouldn’t be a problem Our allergist told us the amount of egg in the MMR is so negligible that it wouldn’t be a concern. The flu vaccine by contrast does sometimes cause reactions. My son also has asthma so he has it every year in the allergy clinic in case he reacts. The amount of egg vary depending on where it was manufactured. It’s not a precise thing and kids react differently depending on the severity of their allergy. That’s why they give it in the clinic.

  7. Thanks for the info guys.

  8. Sort of off-topic, but this is about vaccines so I thought I’d put it here. I’d love to hear your response to this journal on CafeMom: http://www.cafemom.com/journals/read/1512722/My_Dr_LIED_to_me_and_POISONED_my_son

    The main thing that sticks out to me is the idea that the nurse supposedly dumped all of the vaccines into one syringe and injected the child with them. Of course it would be very wrong if the nurse gave her child vaccinations when she hadn’t approved it, but I just find it difficult to believe that the nurse caught him up on all of his shots in one prick.

Leave a Reply

